Sunday, May 30, 2010

Sun Ra Arkestra - "Planet Three"

Recorded in 2004 at the Chivas Jazz Festival, Directv Music Hall in Sao Paolo, Brazil, featuring the Sun Ra Arkestra under the direction of Marshall Allen.

Musicians: Marshall Allen (alto sax, clarinet, flute, EVI, vocal), Charles Davis (tenor sax), Art Jenkins (vocal, space voice, percussion), Tyrone Hill (trumpet, vocal), Michael Ray (trumpet, vocal), Fred Adams (trumpet), Knoel Scott (alto sax), Rey Scott (baritone sax, flute), Dave Davis (trombone), Luquman Ali (drums), Elson Nascimento (drums, percussion), D. Hotep (guitar), Yahya Abdul-Majid (tenor sax), Vincent Chancey (French horn) and John Ore (bass).

Sun Ra Arkestra official site

Buy Sun Ra music
Buy Sun Ra MP3 downloads
Buy Sun Ra DVDs
Buy Sun Ra books

Friday, May 28, 2010

Friday, May 21, 2010

Count Basie - "Blues for Eileen"

Recorded in 1968 in Paris, featuring Count Basie (piano), Eric Dixon (flute), Al Aarons (trumpet), with Sonny Cohn, Gene Coe and Oscar Brashear (trumpets); Harlem Floyd, William Hughes, Grover Mitchell and Richard Boone (trombones); Marshall Royal, Charles Fowlkes, Bobby Platter and Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (saxophones); and Freddie Green (guitar), Norman Keenan (bass) and Harold Jones (drums).

Count Basie Orchestra home page

Buy Count Basie music
Buy Count Basie MP3 downloads
Buy Count Basie DVDs
Buy Count Basie books