Saturday, April 19, 2008

Tower of Power -
"Only So Much Oil In The Ground"

Recorded July 12, 2006 at the Montreux Jazz Festival, featuring Emilio Castillo (tenor sax), Stephen "Doc" Kupka (baritone sax), Tom Politzer (tenor sax), Mike Bogart (trumpet), Adolfo Acosta (trumpet), David Garibaldi (drums), Francis "Rocco" Prestia (bass), Roger Smith (keyboards), Bruce Conte (guitar) and Larry Braggs (vocals).

Tower of Power official site

Buy Tower of Power music
Buy Tower of Power DVDs

Friday, April 11, 2008

Dave Douglas Quintet - "Elk's Club"

Recorded at the 2007 Jazz Baltica festival, featuring Douglas (trumpet), Donny McCaslin (saxophone), Uri Caine (keyboards), James Genus (bass) and Clarence Penn (drums).

Dave Douglas official site

Buy Dave Douglas music

Wednesday, April 09, 2008

Bill Bruford Band - "Feels Good To Me"

Recorded for the British TV program The Old Grey Whistle Test, featuring Bill Bruford (drums), Allan Holdsworth (guitar), Dave Stewart (keyboards), Neil Murray (bass) and Annette Peacock (vocals).

Bill Bruford official site

Buy Bill Bruford music
Buy Bill Bruford DVDs

Tuesday, April 08, 2008

The Horace Silver Quintet
and the Elvin Jones Trio

Recorded 1968 for Danish television, featuring Horace Silver (piano), Bill Hardman (trumpet), Bennie Maupin (tenor sax), John Williams (bass) and Billy Cobham (drums) on "Nutville" and "Song For My Father"; and Elvin Jones (drums), Joe Farrell (saxophone) and Jimmy Garrison (bass) on "Village Greene," "Sweet Little Maia" and "Ginger Bread Boy."

Horace Silver official site
Elvin Jones official site

Buy Horace Silver music
Buy Horace Silver DVDs
Buy Horace Silver books
Buy Elvin Jones music
Buy Elvin Jones DVDs